One would hardly call them birds of a feather, but thrill-seeking American adventuress Beryl Helliwell and quietly reserved Brit Edwina Davenport do one thing very well together—solve murders. . .

Sharing lodging in the sleepy English village of Walmsley Parva has eased some of the financial strain on the two old school chums, but money is still tight in these lean years following the Great War. All of Beryl's ex-husbands have proven reluctant to part with her alimony, which is most inconvenient.

So when the local vicar—and pigeon-racing club president—approaches them with a private inquiry opportunity, the ladies eagerly accept. There's been a spot of bother: the treasurer has absconded with the club's funds and several prized birds.

Beryl and Edwina hope to flush out the missing man by checking his boardinghouse and place of employment at the coal mine. But when they visit the man's loft, they find their elusive quarry lying in white feathers and a pool of crimson blood, stabbed to death—the only witnesses cooing mournfully. 

After a stiff gin fizz, the ladies resume their search for the missing funds and prized birds—and now a murderer. Beryl and Edwina aren't shy about ruffling a few feathers as they home in on their suspects. But they had better find the killer fast, before their sleuthing career is cut short . . .



As friends, the boisterous and brash American Beryl couldn’t be less alike than the prim and proper British Edwina. But as sleuths in an England recovering from the Great War, they’re the perfect match . . .

1920: Flying in the face of convention, legendary American adventuress Beryl Helliwell never fails to surprise and shock. The last thing her adoring public would expect is that she craves some peace and quiet. The humdrum hamlet of Walmsley Parva in the English countryside seems just the ticket. And, honestly, until America comes to its senses and repeals Prohibition, Beryl has no intention of returning stateside and subjecting herself to bathtub gin.

For over three decades, Edwina Davenport has lived comfortably in Walmsley Parva, but the post–World War I bust has left her in dire financial straits and forced her to advertise for a lodger. When her long-lost school chum Beryl arrives on her doorstep—actually crashes into it in her red motorcar—Edwina welcomes her old friend as her new roommate.

But her idyllic hometown has a hidden sinister side, and when the two friends are drawn in, they decide to set up shop as private inquiry agents, helping Edwina to make ends meet and satisfying Beryl’s thirst for adventure. Now this odd couple will need to put their heads together to catch a killer—before this sleepy English village becomes their final resting place . . .

 


What people are saying about the Beryl and Edwina series:

 

You’ll love this delightful new series about two ladies of a certain age who refuse to let Society’s expectations hold them back from bringing a killer to justice. The very British Edwina and the too American Beryl are a wonderfully mismatched pair who will keep you turning pages until they solve the crime.
— Victoria Thompson, bestselling author of Murder in the Bowery
Remember the name Jessica Ellicott. Her deftly executed debut novel, in which two female amateur detectives, one American and one English, work together to solve an old mystery and a new murder in post-World War I England, is a delight from start to finish. The characters are interesting, the plot is intriguing, and there is the added attraction of a cute little dog. What more could fans of historical cozies ask for?
— Kathy Lynn Emerson, author of Murder in a Cornish Alehouse
Absolutely delightful. Readers will fall in love with this intrepid new pair of sleuths as they sniff out the secrets hiding just beneath the surface of even the most unassuming English village.
— Anna Lee Huber, bestselling author of the Lady Darby Mysteries
You’ll fall in love with genteel Edwina and gregarious Beryl, a quirky pair of sleuths who pool their respective talents and doggedly get the job done. Great fun from start to finish, murder has never been so adorable!
— Alyssa Maxwell, author of A Pinch of Poison
Kudos to author Jessica Ellicott for Murder in an English Village, the first in her Beryl and Edwina Mystery series, for breathing new life into the well-worn English village mystery genre.
— Mystery Scene Magazine

Set in 1920, Ellicott’s spectacular series launch reunites two old schoolmates in the U.K. Reflections on the changes in post-WWI society lend substance to this light mystery.
— Publishers Weekly Starred Review
Well-drawn women of a certain age, plot twists, and details of wartime and postwar Britain distinguish this historical cozy, which will appeal to fans of Frances Brody’s Kate Shackleton and Kerry Greenwood’s Phryne Fisher.” —Booklist
With its strong sense of place and time in post-World War I England, this will be welcomed by fans of Frances Brody’s Kate Shackleton mysteries. —Library Journal, starred review
Ellicott’s debut delivers the traditional trappings of the cozy mystery.” —Kirkus Reviews

More Information at Kensington.com